While you're in a project, you can simply save your progress without closing the project by tapping the cloud in the upper right corner.
When you're done with the project, you can do one of two things:

To save projects when offline, see How to Save Projects Without an Internet Connection. For cloud storage details and restoring projects, see Cloud Storage and Restoring Projects.